Risks and rewards

Today I just wanted to write a quick post to share a story I hope might motivate others to

A couple of months ago, a received a phone call from a client that went something like this:

Hi Carol. I know you don’t offer interpreting, but just this once, could you maybe…?

Not so long ago, I would have said no immediately. All the possible negative outcomes flashed through my mind, and I almost turned down the job. But after chatting about it in more detail (nothing technical, an informal business meeting for a company I know fairly well), and with my vow to be more confident in the back of my mind, I decided to go for it.

A couple of weeks after the job, the client called back and requested me for a similar job – and it’s likely this will turn into something fairly regular. I took a risk, and it paid off with a very satisfied client, a fulfilling new experience and the potential for a long-term collaboration!

If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.

Sometimes, it pays to take risks. I’m not suggesting you go out and do something silly just for the sake of it, but it can be incredibly rewarding to take a step outside your comfort zone and stretch your wings! What risks have you taken lately?

Leave a Reply

