Catching up – what’s new?

I didn’t really mean to stop blogging back last October, it just kind of happened. And then the longer I left it, the harder it became to start again. But, inspired by Sarah Dillon’s sort your social campaign on Facebook and Twitter, I decided it was time to get back into the swing of things.

So, what’s been happening over the last year?

Change

Firstly, business is booming! I really have no complaints there. I’m gradually working my way up to higher paying clients, and getting increasingly interesting projects to work on. Despite a bit of a quiet time in August, after came back from holiday, demand has been good and I’m feeling very positive.

I’ve also got better at managing my time – I now have “office hours” and switch off the computer when I’m done for the day, rather than leaving it on and “just doing this little thing” after dinner. That’s not to say that I’m not flexible – the hours I work adapt to the projects I’ve got going on – it just means that my clients know when they can reach me and when I’m unlikely to reply to emails.

In terms of technology, I’ve updated to Trados 2015 and Windows 10. They both took a bit of getting used to, but I haven’t found any major bugs (I guess I’m a lucky one) and seem to be getting on quite nicely with both of them. I also recently downloaded Dragon NaturallySpeaking, although I’m not very used to it yet so you’ll have to wait for an update on that later.

Taking a look back at the goals I set way back at the start of 2014, I think I’m doing pretty well on them. I certainly feel a lot more confident, and that’s reflected in some of the things I’m currently taking on (more on those soon). I’ve gained some more direct clients, particularly thanks to the co- working I go to once a week, and I really enjoy the work I do for them. I now go to a weekly yoga class which not only helps get me out of the house, but is also doing wonders for my posture.

Well that’s it really – now you know what I’ve been up to over the last few months! It’s been a very busy, but also positive time and now I’m ready to move onwards and upwards!

Leave a Reply

