A freelancer’s guide to achieving your goals

My goal-map

 

Continuing with my focus on goals and targets, I thought it might be interesting to look at some ways in which we can give ourselves the best possible chance of achieving them! I’ve called this a freelancer’s guide, because at the end of the day we are the ones setting our own goals – we don’t have a corporate hierarchy telling us what our targets should be – but I guess the ideas could apply to anyone!

1. Big goals & small goals

When I’m setting myself new goals, the first thing I do is look at the ‘big picture’ – I take a piece of paper and write down where I want to be in the distant future. I then break these down in a sort of mind map until I get to the absolute basic elements of each biggie. This gives me actual tasks to work on, rather than vague abstract notions that seem too huge to ever accomplish – always a good start!

2. Visibility

Keep a copy of your goals where you will see it several times a day to keep yourself focused on moving towards them. I took a picture of mine and set it as my computer background. I also keep a copy of my ‘big’ goals on my night table, so I think about them each night and each morning. You know the saying ‘Out of sight, out of mind’? Well that’s the OPPOSITE of what you want! If you have a blog or social media accounts, have you thought about publishing your goals? Personally I find that there is no better motivation than having other people ask how you’re getting on…

3. Time

Once you’ve broken down your goals into the steps to accomplishing them, give yourself deadlines for each task, and write down roughly how much time you think you’ll need to accomplish the goal. It’s really easy to get side-tracked and so it’s a good idea to set some time, either each week or each month, to really work on moving forward. Goals are all well and good, but if you don’t push yourself, they will never become reality!

So those are my top three tips for achieving your goals. Do you have any other ideas? Let me know if these work for you, or if you have any other tips to share!

One last thing: never give up! Even if you are making barely any progress, moving forwards is always better than standing still!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

