Year in Review – 2013

Today I wanted to take a quick look back at the year gone by. It’s been quite a busy one, both personally and professionally! Here are five of my ‘big moments’ from 2013…Image

1. MA in Translation and Interpreting Studies

My major achievement this year was definitely graduating from my Masters with Merit. I’ll be writing a full post in the near future about what I learnt (and didn’t!), so I won’t go into much detail here. It’s nice to finally say, after 19 years, that I am finished with exams (until I decide to take the MITI exam, but that won’t be for a while)!

2. The Big Move

I’m still in the process of moving my business to France – getting all the paperwork in order is taking longer than expected, but everything should be in place in the next month or so!

3. Going full-time freelance

Although I started freelancing two years ago, since I finished my Masters in September I have been working freelance full-time. I’ve developed my business in every sense this year, and am excited to see how that will continue in 2014! I also completed the Business School for Translators, to help me focus more on the business side of what I do.

4. My first conference

In October, I went to my first professional event – the IAPTI conference in London. It was a great event, and you can see my blog post about it here.

Paradise…

5. Travelling

In 2013, it feels like I was never in any one place for very long – in addition to my usual travels between Manchester, Durham, Brighton, Reims and Alsace, I also visited Marseille for the first time, London with friends, Iceland with family, went to Paris more than once, and spent a magical two weeks in the Dominican Republic. Not too bad, all things considered!

  

 

 

I think it’s always important to look back over the year gone by and plan for the year ahead in January – it helps me feel like I’m moving towards my goals, and helps me reflect on what I would like to change in the future. Have you taken the time this week to really think about the things 2013 brought you, and what you want to achieve in 2014? I’d love to know what your best moment of the year was.

Next week I’ll be posting some of my goals for 2014 – let’s get off to a great start!

3 Comments

  1. It must be wonderful to be in France! I remember when I moved from the UK to come to Italy.. Good luck! Changes are for the best because it takes courage and courage gets rewarded. No other way!

  2. Pingback: Year in Review Part 2: Goals for 2014 | Carol Translates

Leave a Reply

