My first conference (and my first blogpost!)

So, what better way to start off my translation blog than with my account of the first IAPTI Conference, which took place this Saturday in London? It gets me over the terrifying “but there’s nothing on the page yet!” stage anyway!IAPTI

Firstly, I think the IAPTI has to be commended and praised for the reasoning behind London as the venue for their first conference. While I was previously aware of the problems facing court interpreters in the UK at the moment, I have to admit it wasn’t something I had paid too much attention too, and I was certainly very pleased to hear more on the background of the outsourcing debacle. The passion and drive in the room was almost palpable, and Madeleine Lee and Geoffrey Buckingham (@Geoffrey_M_B) in particular are two great spokespeople for the cause.

I was also hugely impressed by the organisation of the whole day. Coordinating three rooms, nearly 200 attendees, and ensuring enough coffee was available to keep us all going all day cannot have been an easy task! The day seemed (to me at least) to run very smoothly, allowing us to benefit fully from the wonderful presentations covering a wide range of issues under the umbrella of translation and interpreting. A huge thank you to everyone involved!

I have to say that although I enjoyed all of the presentations I attended, Marta Stelmaszak’s really stood out. The last session of the day, it brought the conference to a positive end, and Marta gave us all some great ideas on how to become more successful translators. In fact, she inspired me so much I’ve now signed up to her Business School for Translators in November!

On a personal note, I’m slightly annoyed with myself for not making more effort to network. This was the first conference I ever attended, and I was a little intimidated, so next time I will definitely be making an effort to get the business cards out more often!

Overall, it was a very intensive, but incredibly inspiring day! I have lists of all sorts of things to explore further, ideas for making sure my translation business is a success from the start, and can relax in the knowledge that I’m not the only translator who seems to run purely on caffeine…

6 Comments

  1. Nice article, Carol. Now that you have witnessed what a wonderful bunch of people translators and interpreters really are, networking will go effortless and like you’ve never done anything else in your life!
    Wishing you lots of success and insights at the Business School. Excellent decision of yours to take the course!

  2. Thanks for sharing your insights, Carol! And you know I’m very pleased that you signed up for the School. You’re going to love it! One of the things I’ll say (in Lesson 4, to be precise) is that we can’t expect to go to our first event and be a great networker from day 1. It all takes some time and practise! 🙂

  3. Pingback: First international IAPTI conference in London, October 2013 | Languages & Translation

Leave a Reply

